CONNECTICUT SWIMMING, INC

HOUSE OF DELEGATES MINUTES May 19, 2009

Administrative Vice Chair Chris Hug called the meeting to order at the High Plains Community Center in Orange, CT at 7:52 P.M.

Present Board Members: Peter Boucher, Ed Doernberger, Dana Gnerre, David Heller, Mike Huffman, Chris Hug, Henk Jansen, Ellen Johnston, Sue Lecza, Rick Lewis, Barry Silver, Lauren Solernou, Bonnie Strittmatter and Judy Snow.

Absent Board Members: Bruce Collins, Michael Ferraro, Dennis Flores, Jeff Gray and Christine Pelham.

Club Delegates Present: John McCann (AJSC), Robin Gibbons (CAT), Jeff Mackiewicz (CCAT), Dan Mascolo (CDOG), Jennifer Lyman (HMST), Gary Cavaliere (HNHS), Kaeley Steinnagel (LEHY), Alicia Guerrette (NCY), David Heller (NTSC), Tim Wise (OMNI), Henk Jansen (PSDY), Rob Shearer (RAC), Rick Lewis (SHKS), Tom Behn (SMST), John Vitale (TAC), Lisa Demers (WWRX), Todd Stevens (WYW),

Also Present: Nan Cooper, Cooper Kearns and Mary Westcott

Approval of the Agenda: A motion to accept the Agenda as written was unanimously approved.

Approval of the Minutes: A motion to accept the minutes of the October 2008 House of Delegates Meeting was unanimously approved.

Welcome and Opening Remarks and Announcements: Administrative Vice Chair Chris Hug welcomed all in attendance to the Spring 2009 House of Delegates Meeting. Mr. Hug announced that some pool availability issues are occurring throughout Connecticut at the present time. USA Swimming continues to offer and conduct Build a Pool Conferences. 13 Connecticut swimmers participated in Olympic trials. Mr. Hug thanked Dana Gnerre and Michael Ferraro for their service to Connecticut Swimming as their terms on the Board have been completed. Mr. Hug welcomed the new Junior Athlete Representative, Cooper Kearns (SNOCO) to the CSI Board. Ms. Kearns will be a sophomore in High School in the Fall of 2009. Mr. Hug also welcomed the new Junior Coaches Representative, Dan Mascolo (CDOG) to the CSI Board.

Reports of Officers

Administrative Vice Chair – Chris Hug

Connecticut Swimming is updating and amending its Bylaws. Revisions and updates to the Bylaws will be presented to the members of Connecticut Swimming in the Fall of 2009.

Treasurer – Sue Lecza

The financial position of Connecticut Swimming remains strong despite the current economy. The Audit of the 2008 CSI financial records is progressing well.

Finance Vice Chair - Bonnie Strittmatter

CSI finances are good. Efforts are being made to evaluate and review the CSI investment procedures and portfolio.

Age Group Committee – Peter Boucher

The highlights of the past year are set forth in the Annual Report. The Age Group Committee intends to conduct its second annual College Recruiting Seminar in the Fall of 2009 for high school students.

Senior Committee - Henk Jensen

Connecticut Swimming will be electing a new Senior Committee Chair in 2010. Anyone who wants to run for election is urged to become a member of the Committee for the 2009-2010 season.

Program Development – Rick Lewis

Efforts are ongoing to increase participation and involvement in regard to OUTREACH swimmers.

Program Operations – Barry Silver

Implemented online meet bid process during the past year which has worked very well. Also standardized meet announcement forms used by CSI. Warm-up policy and procedures were revised during the past season and they appear to be working well. OUTREACH policy implemented and efforts to increase and encourage OUTREACH participation continue.

Technical Planning – Ellen Johnston

No Report.

Coach Representatives – Mike Ferraro and Dennis Flores

No Report.

Athlete Representatives - Dana Gnerre and Lauren Solernou

No Report.

Coach at Large - Christine Pelham

No Report.

Safety - Bruce Collins

No Report.

Officials - Mike Huffman

The annual CSI Officials meeting is being planned for the Fall of 2009. The CSI Officials Chair attended the USA Swimming National Officials Chair meeting in Minnesota during May 2009.

Registration - Judy Snow

Connecticut Swimming has registered approximately 100 additional swimmers to date for the Summer 2009 Long Course season. Updated CSI membership statistics were distributed.

Reports of Committees and Coordinators

No Reports.

Presentation and Approval of the Annual Budget for 2009-2010

A balanced budget for 2009-2010 was presented to all attendees. The budget includes an increase in individual USA Swimming membership fees from \$55.00 to \$57.00. In addition, CSI Championship meet splash fees have been increased for individual event entries from \$5.00 to \$5.50 and for relays from \$10.00 to \$11.00. The 2009-2010 Budget was unanimously approved.

2009 CSI Elections

David Heller, Nominating Committee Chairman reported the following nominations for election to the CSI Board of Directors: Program Operations Vice Chair: Mike Huffman (CCSU), Officials Committee Chair: Ed Becker (SNCO), Age Group Committee Chair: King Lee (MSC), Registration/Membership Coordinator: Judy Snow (UNAT), Treasurer: Lisa Earley (HMST) and Mary Westcott (SNCO), Technical Planning Chair: co chairs Jen Lyman (HMST) and JoAnn McCaffrey (WYW), Bob Shearer (RAC) and Kaeley Steinnagel (LEHY), Safety Chair: Peter Boucher (LEHY) and Bob Pimer (HMST), and Coach at Large: Christine Pelham (CAC). A special thanks to the members of the 2009 Nominating Committee: Peter Boucher, Omar Cruz, David Heller, Jen Lyman and Christine Pelham.

The slate of Officers as nominated for the uncontested positions were elected by unanimous voice acclamation. Elected for the position of Treasurer was Mary Westcott (SNCO), Kaeley Steinnagel (LEHY) was elected as the Technical Planning Chair and Peter Boucher (LEHY) was elected as the Safety Chair.

NEW BUSINESS

Appointment of 2009-2010 CSI Nominating Committee

The following volunteers were appointed to the CSI Nominating Committee to prepare for the May 2010 CSI elections: Peter Boucher (LEHY), Omar Cruz (ZEUS), Alicia Guerrette (NCY), David Heller (NTSC) and Jen Lyman (HMST).

Appointment of 2009-2011 Board of Review:

The following volunteers were appointed to the CSI Board of Review to serve a2-year term expiring May 2011.

David Heller, NTSC, board
Barry Silver, NCY
Bob Shearer, RAC
Marshall Kearns, SNCO
Robyn Gibbons, CAT
Lauren Solernou, CDOG, athlete, board
Dana Gnerre, WYW, athlete
Cooper Kearns, SNCO, athlete, board

Next House of Delegates Meeting to be conducted on October 3, 2009 in conjunction with the Swimposium sponsored by USA Swimming and CSI.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:18 P.M.

Respectfully submitted, David M. Heller Secretary