# Draft CONNECTICUT SWIMMING, INC

# HOUSE OF DELEGATES MINUTES May 21, 2013

General Chairman Rick Lewis called the meeting to order at the Courtyard by Marriott at 136 Marsh Hill Road in Orange, CT at 7:32 p.m.

**Present Board Members**: Rick Lewis, Todd Gordon, Lauren Bullock, Jeff Scobee, Dave Reilly, Randy Erlenbach, Kaeley Steinnagel, Tak Takabayashi, Ed Becker, Mark Sedlak, Matt Hurst, Kaz Takabayashi, Ty Seymour, Coral McNary, David Heller, Ed Doernberger and Judy Snow.

Absent Board Members: Jeffrey Gray, Ed Heath, Jordan Berger, George Bradner and Chris Hug.

Clubs Present: John McCann AJSC, Jeff Scobee BEAR, George Janz CAC, Debbie VonFeldt CAT, Sara Massa and Keith Cargan CCAT, John Spadafina CCSU, Sean Farrell CDOG, Jamie Barone CPAC, Mark Kinne GLAS, Connie Wu GRYM, Nick Cavataro GYWD, Jen Lyman HHAC, Chuck Elrick HMST, Steven Gambino KSC, Kaeley Steinnagel LEHY, David Laudati MJCC, Drew Kingman NCY, Bill Poley NFAF, Russ Newton NMEG, Spencer Hartmann OAK, Tim Wise OMNI, Henk Jansen PSDY, Rob Shearer RAC, Chris French RYWC, Mike Ferraro SEA, Rick Lewis SHKS, Chuck Clark SMST, Bill Ball SNCO, Susan Lecza SYS, John Vitale and Ann Vitale TAC, David Mendonca VSYM, Edwin Doernberger WAC, Kait Moss and Lisa Tyler WDOL, Katie Riccobon and Rob Riccobon WHAT, Ellen Johnston WRAT, Lisa Demers and Diana Branscombe WWRX, Randy Erlenbach and Jo Ann McCaffrey WYW and Nancy Wargo and Omar Cruz (arrived at 7:45 pm) ZEUS.

Also Present: Nan Cooper.

**Approval of the Agenda**: A motion to accept the Agenda as written was unanimously approved.

**Approval of the Minutes**: A motion to accept the minutes of the May 15, 2012 House of Delegates Meeting was unanimously approved.

Welcome/Announcements/General Chairman's Report: General Chair Rick Lewis welcomed all in attendance to the Spring 2013 House of Delegates Meeting. Mr. Lewis thanked Kaeley Steinnagel for making arrangements for the educational opportunities made available for swimmers, parents and coaches at the HOD meeting. In addition, Mr. Lewis thanked all of the coaches in attendance for attending the HOD meeting. Mr. Lewis also announced that a new Club Training Seminar will be conducted by Peter Clark from USA Swimming here in CT on June 12, 2013 in Wethersfield. Mr. Lewis also recognized and thanked Rob Riccobon for his appointment as the Safe Sport Coordinator for CT Swimming. Mr. Lewis also recognized and thanked CSI's newest athlete Representatives Madeline Snow and Garrett Mazzioti for their recent selection. Finally, Mr. Lewis announced that the short course 2014 Eastern Zone swim meet will be held in Webster, New York just outside of Rochester.

# **Reports of Officers**

#### Administrative Vice Chair - Jeff Grav

No Report.

#### Treasurer - Lauren Bullock

The Treasurer was pleased to report that the CSI audit was successfully completed and that CSI remains in a strong financial position.

# Finance Vice Chair - Todd Gordon

Mr. Gordon announced that CSI is increasing funding for National swim meets and coach budgets. Mr. Gordon was also pleased to report that CT Swimming is one of the most successful LSC's in the entire country.

# Age Group Committee - Dave Reilly

See Handout. Henk Jansen requested that the Age Group Committee re-evaluate Eastern Zone Championships based upon cost and athlete safety issues. The request was taken under advisement.

# Senior Committee - Randy Erlenbach

See Handout.

## **Technical Planning Committee – Kaeley Steinnagel**

See Handout.

# **Program Development – Jeff Scobee**

See Handout. Mr. Scobee explained that the Committee provides oversight to various CSI Committees. Mr. Scobee also announced that the 2014 Senior Championships will be held on March 6-9, 2014 and that Age Group Championships will be conducted on March 13-16, 2014.

#### Safety Committee - Ed Heath

No Report.

# Officials - Ed Becker

See Report. Thirteen (13) Officials Clinics were held over the course of the past year. Twenty one (21) Connecticut Officials now have National Certification. In addition, Mr. Becker announced that two (2) Referees will be needed to work at all meets starting in the Fall of 2013. A Referee and an Administrative Referee will be needed at every meet.

# Program Operations - Tak Takabayashi

A PowerPoint presentation was presented to all in attendance. The CSI meet bidding schedule and procedures was announced and explained. It was announced that there were five (5) Regional short course Championship meets during the 2013 short course season.

# Coach Representatives – Mark Sedlak and Matt Hurst

The Clinic went very well and the feedback received was that both Coaches and Swimmers would like to have CSI conduct an annual Clinic. In all, sixty eight (68) Coaches attended the Clinic and seventy (70) swimmers primarily ages 12 and over attended the Clinic.

# Athlete Representative - Kaz Takabayashi, Ty Seymour, Jordan Berger and Coral McNary

Two (2) athletes Ty Seymour and Coral McNary attended the National Convention and the Eastern Zone annual meeting. An Athlete Suggestion Box was used at the 2013 Championship Meets and many good suggestions were received. CT Swimming has 3 new Athlete Representatives and an Athlete Committee is being formed. The goal is to increase Athlete input and communication in all aspects of Connecticut and USA Swimming.

# Registration/Membership – Judy Snow

Registration information shows 5,700 registered USA swimmers in Connecticut. Mrs. Snow also announced that Coach Education training must be completed in a specific order for Coach Registration purposes.

## Presentation and Approval of the Annual Budget for 2013-2014 and the 2011-2012 Audit

The 2013-2014 Budget was presented and explained to all attendees. The 2013-2014 Budget was unanimously approved. The 2011-2012 Audit results were presented and explained. The 2011-2012 Audit was unanimously approved.

#### **Elections**

David Heller, Nominating Committee Chairman reported the following nominations for election to the CSI Board of Directors: Program Operations Division Vice Chair: Jim Robison (CDOG), Officials Committee Chair: Nancy Wargo (ZEUS), Age Group Committee Chair: Dave Reilly (WAC), Registration Coordinator: Judy Snow (UN), Treasurer: Susan Lecza (SYS), Technical Planning Committee Chair: Henk Jansen (PSDY), Safety Committee Chair: Ed Heath (FINS), Secretary: Lauren Bullock (CPAC), Coach at large: Kaeley Steinnagel (LEHY).

A special thanks to the members of the 2013 Nominating Committee: Omar Cruz, Todd Gordon, David Heller, Bob Shearer and Kaeley Steinnagel.

The Slate of Officers as nominated was elected by unanimous voice acclamation.

#### **New Business**

None.

Next House of Delegates Meeting to be conducted on May 20, 2014.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:48 P.M.

Respectfully submitted, David M. Heller Secretary